Art Created From Pain

Earlier this summer I learned that an acquaintance from college broke off an eight year long relationship with her boyfriend. I was shocked and saddened. While this person and I are not friends, she is a kind and well-meaning person, therefore I could sympathize. Such a sudden change in support system, one that accompanied her through such a long and highly transformative portion of her life, must have been difficult to face. She has taken to social media more than usual, I assume as a method to move forward. She must have her own prescription set up.

Anyway she started writing poetry as a means of healing. Every time I see her poems I am moved to write my own poems. Unfortunately I get stuck on what to write about. I love to write poetry that is dark, eerie, and soul-searching. This is not an easy thing – I need to be in the accurate headspace to achieve those types of tones and mood.

It shouldn’t be that way. I should not need to be in a bad place in my life to create the type of poetry I enjoy writing. So, this post is more of a self-encouragement to try to sit down and just try writing. Do not let the writing block stop you from releasing the bubbling yearning of putting poetry on paper.

 

What Are You Thinking

